eBuzz Nigeria

Ennead of Heliopolis in Egyptian Mythology

In historic Egyptian faith, an ennead was a gaggle of 9 gods. The principal ennead was the Great Ennead of Heliopolis. This group included the gods Atum, Shu, Tefnut, Geb, Nut, Osiris, Isis, Seth, and Nephthys. These 9 will be thought of the embodiments of the fundamental components of life as set forth in Egyptian creation fantasy: life, sky, earth, and so forth.

The quantity 9, or 3 times three, additionally would possibly point out a “plural of plurals,” or, merely, many gods. But usually an ennead was a gaggle of precisely 9.

In the Heliopolitan model of creation, Atum, who created himself after which the world, begot Shu and Shu’s sister Tefnut. These two represented the air and moisture, respectively. Shu and Tefnut gave rise to Geb (earth) and hissister Nut (sky). Geb and Nut, in flip, gave delivery to the 4 different pairs of female and male gods who embodied the balanced forces of order and dysfunction and performed direct roles in the created universe.

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedinShare on Pinterest

Search More of: , , ,

« | »

Recent Posts