Home List List of Political Parties in Nigeria

List of Political Parties in Nigeria

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) is the main agent of democracy in Nigeria. INEC is the permanent body created by the constitution to organise Federal and State elections in Nigeria.

In the last elections, 63 political parties participated and were expected to win at least one seat in the National Assembly or State Houses of Assembly or risk deregistration. Results of the elections showed that only 10 parties fulfilled the requirement. They include the People Democratic Party (PDP), Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), Action Congress of Nigeria (CAN), All Nigeria People Party (ANPP), Labour Party (LP), Progressive People Alliance (PPA), Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN), All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), Accord Party (AP), Democratic People Party (DPP) and KOWA Party.

The 30 Registered Political Parties of Nigeria from 2014-2016.

Accord A
Action Alliance AA
Advanced Congress Of Democrats ACD
Allied Congress Party of Nigeria ACPN
Alliance For Democracy AD
African Democratic Congress ADC
African Peoples Alliance APA
All Progressive Congress APC
All Progressives Grand Alliance APGA
Citizens Popular Party CPP
Democratic Peoples Congress DPC
Democratic Peoples Party DPP
Fresh Democratic Party FRESH
Hope Democratic Party HDP
Independent Democrats ID
Kowa Party KP
Labour Party LP
Mega Progressive Peoples Party MPPP
National Conscience Party NCP
New Nigeria Peoples Party NNPP
People For Democratic Change PDC
Peoples Democratic Movement PDM
Peoples Democratic Party PDP
Progressive Peoples Alliance PPA
Peoples Party of Nigeria PPN
Social Democratic Party SDP
United Democratic Party UDP
Unity Party of Nigeria UPN
United Progressive Party UPP
Young Democratic Party YDP