Home Profile Nigerian Presidents from 1960 till Date

Nigerian Presidents from 1960 till Date

Full list of Nigerian Presidents and head of states till date.

The President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria is the head of state and head of the national executive of Nigeria. The President of Nigeria is also the commander-in-chief of the Nigerian Armed Forces. The President is elected in national elections which take place every four years.

However, let’s now list the names of Nigerian Presidents chronologically from the first Republic to present.

Presidents In First Republic

Sir James Robertson Governor General of Nigeria 1955-1960
Sir Nnamdi Azikiwe Ceremonial President of Nigeria 1960-1966
Alhaji Abubakar Tafawa Balewa First and only Prime Minister of Nigeria 1957-1966
General Aguiyi Ironsi  President of Nigeria Jan – July 1966
General Yakubu Gowon President of Nigeria 1966-1975
General Murtala Ramat Mohammed President of Nigeria 1975-1976
General Olusegun Obasanjo President of Nigeria 1976-1979
Hot now!  World Best Player Winners List (1956 - 2017)


Presidents In Second Republic

Alhaji Shehu Aliyu Shagari President Of Nigeria 1979-1983
Major General Muhammadu Buhari Military Head Of State 1983-1985
General Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida Military Head Of State 1985-1993

Presidents In Third Republic

Chief Earnest Shonekon President Of Nigeria 26th Aug,1993-17th Nov,1993
General Sani Abacha Military Head Of State 1993-1998
General Abdusalami Abubakar Military Head Of State 1998-1999

Presidents In Fourth Republic

General Olusegun Okekiola Aremu Obasanjo President Of Nigeria 1999-2007
Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar’adua President Of Nigeria 2007-2010
Goodluck Ebele Azikiwe Jonathan President Of Nigeria 2010-2015
Muhammad Buhari President Of Nigeria 2015-201?