Home Profile World Best Player Winners List (1956 - 2017)

World Best Player Winners List (1956 - 2017)

The Best FIFA Football Awards are annual awards presented by FIFA to the game's top players and coaches. The below list showcases winners including Ballon d'or winners.
The awards were launched in 2016 to replace the Ballon d'Or. The Ballon d'Or will still be presented by the magazine
France Football but it will no longer be in partnership with FIFA, who will instead hand out their own prizes.
Cristiano Ronaldo and Carli Lloyd were the first recipients of the main men's and women's awards respectively.

Ballon d’Or award started back in 1956 and it was known as “European Player Of the year award” and only the players from europe were eligible for this award. But In 1995 the rules were changed and any player playing for European club could win it. But in 2009 it was merged with “FIFA’s player of the year award” and became FIFA Ballon d’or which any footballer from any part of the world can win it.

How the Award is Come by

All national team captains and Coaches including one specialist journalists from every country vote for the nominees. They are allowed to pick three players in order of their respective priority and when the drafts are returned, FIFA calculate points account to following criteria:

Each 1st position results to 5 points, the 2nd position is 3 points and 3rd gets 1 point. So around 500 voters (170 national team captains, 170 national coaches and around 170 journalists) points are counted, accumulated and the player with most points get the Ballon Dor award.

Okay then, let's see the list of Ballon D'or winners of all time, list of all the ever exceptional winners of the World Best Player Awards so far since it inception in 1956 till date.

Men's Player of The Year 2017

On September 22, Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar and Lionel Messi were revealed as the final three contenders for the Men's Player of the Year award.

The Men's Player of the Year award started with a 24-man shortlist drawn by a group of 'FIFA legends' that includes Diego Maradona, Cafu and Carles Puyol.
The shortlist was then voted on between August 21 and September 7 by national team coaches, national team captains, selected media and fans, with each of the four voting categories weighted evenly.
The top three was revealed on September 22, with the winner set to be announced at the ceremony on October 23.

Ballon D'or Winners of All Time

2017 Cristiano Ronaldo (Men's Player of the Year)
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo (Men's Player of the Year + Ballon D'or)
2015 Lionel Messi
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo
2012 Lionel Messi
2011 Lionel Messi
2010 Lionel Messi
2009 Lionel Messi
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo
2007 Kaká
2006 Fabio Cannavaro
2005 Ronaldinho
2004 Andriy Shevchenko
2003 Pavel Nedvěd
2002 Ronaldo
2001 Michael Owen
2000 Luís Figo
1999 Rivaldo
1998 Zinedine Zidane
1997 Ronaldo
1996 Matthias Sammer
1995 George Weah
1994 Hristo Stoichkov
1993 Roberto Baggio
1992 Marco van Basten
1991 Jean - Pierre Papin
1990 Lothar Matthäus
1989 Marco van Basten
1988 Marco van Basten
1987 Ruud Gullit
1986 Igor Belanov
1985 Michel Platini
1984 Michel Platini
1983 Michel Platini
1982 Paolo Rossi
1981 Karl- Heinz Rummenigge
1980 Karl- Heinz Rummenigge
1979 Kevin Keegan
1978 Kevin Keegan
1977 Allan Simonsen
1976 Franz Beckenbauer
1975 Oleg Blokhin
1974 Johan Cruyff
1973 Johan Cruyff
1972 Franz Beckenbauer
1971 Johan Cruyff
1970 Gerd Müller
1969 Gianni Rivera
1968 George Best
1967 Flórián Albert
1966 Bobby Charlton
1965 Eusébio
1964 Denis Law
1963 Lev Yashin
1962 Josef Masopust
1961 Omar Sívori
1960 Luis Suárez
1959 Alfredo Di Stéfano
1958 Raymond Kopa
1957 Alfredo Di Stéfano
1956 Stanley Matthews