Home Viral 2019 National Election in Nigeria: What You Must Know

2019 National Election in Nigeria: What You Must Know

There will be general elections in Nigeria on February 2019. Current president Muhammadu Buhari is seeking re-election, with many other candidates.

2019 Nigeria Election

Look no further to get all information regarding 2019 Nigeria General Elections: dates, candidates running, and other vital facts you should know about 2019 elections.

Just like yesterday, the general elections of 2015 which was originally scheduled to hold 14 February but was later postponed to 28 March and 11 April 2015 installed General Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress being the winner of the Presidential elections and sworn in on 29 May 2015.

Fast forward to four years, here comes the same event in 2019, Nigeria General Elections where executives will be constitutionally elected to offices.

General elections will be held in Nigerian between February and March 2019 to elect the President and the National Assembly and others. Meanwhile, they will be the sixth quadrennial elections since the end of military junta in 1999.

When is 2019 General Election in Nigeria?

The Nigerian general elections of 2019 will hold on 16th February and 2nd March 2019. Presidential and National Assembly elections will hold on 16th February, while the Governorship and State House of Assembly elections is scheduled to hold on 2nd March.

To interested fellows who want the full 2019 nigeria election timetable PDF, Download official INEC approved timetable for 2019 elections pdf.

The incumbent president of the Federal Republican of Nigeria Muhammadu Buhari along his vice, Yemi Osinbajo, while former vice-president Atiku Abubakar and his running mate Peter Obi are frontrunners in the race to become the next head of state. Each representing All Progressive Congress and Peoples Democratic Party respectively.

Below is the list of all candidates running for the presidential seat.

Presidential Candidates for 2019 Nigeria National Election

  1. Muhammadu Buhari, incumbent president, is the APC presidential candidate.
  2. Atiku Abubakar, former vice president, is the PDP presidential candidate.
  3. Chike Ukaegbu, founder of Startup52, is the presidential candidate of AAP.
  4. Donald Duke, a former governor of Cross Rivers State, is the presidential candidate of the SDP.
  5. Fela Durotoye, member of Alliance for New Nigeria .
  6. Oby Ezekwesili, former Minister of Education and leader of the Bring Back Our Girls campaign.
  7. Tope Fasua, founder and National Chairman of the Abundant Nigeria Renewal Party.
  8. Rabiu Kwankwaso, former governor of Kano State.
  9. Sule Lamido, a former governor of Jigawa State .
  10. Ahmed Makarfi, former chairman of the People's Democratic Party National Caretaker Committee.
  11. Obadiah Mailafia, former Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria and candidate of the African Democratic Congress.
  12. Kingsley Moghalu, former Deputy Governor of the CBN and Professor of Practice at Tufts University 's Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy.
  13. Gbenga Olawepo-Hashim, oil business mogul and presidential candidate for the Peoples Trust.
  14. Remi Sonaiya, member of the KOWA Party and former university lecturer.
  15. Omoyele Sowore, human rights activist, pro-democracy campaigner and publisher of news website Sahara Reporters.
  16. Kabiru Tanimu Turaki, former Minister of Special Duties.

What You Should Know about Election in Nigeria

Nigeria has a multi-party system, with two or three strong parties and a third party that is electorally successful. However, members of the People's Democratic Party (PDP) had controlled the presidency since elections were resumed in 1999 until 2015 when Muhammadu Buhari of All Progressive Congress (APC) won the presidential election.

The President of Nigeria is elected using a simple majority of the highest votes cast, as well as over 25% of the votes in at least two-thirds of states. However, Nigeria elects on the federal level a head of state (the President of Nigeria) and a legislature (the National Assembly).

The National House of Assembly has two chambers. The House of Representatives which has 360 members, elected for a four-year term in single-seat constituencies and, the Senate which has 109 members, also elected for a four-year term: each of the 36 states are divided into 3 senatorial districts, each of which is represented by one senator; the Federal Capital Territory is represented by only one senator.

The Nigeria 2019 general elections will be the sixth four-year term elections since the end of military rule in 1999. 2019 General elections in Nigeria is scheduled for16 February 2019 to elect the President and the National Assembly.